Peaches & Ice Cream

August 8, 2011 at 5:38 pm Leave a comment

A couple weeks ago, I was Georgia bound and whenever I think
Georgia… I think PEACHES! My mom and I found a roadside stand with some huge
baskets of super juicy peaches.

As you can see… that’s a lot of peaches! I have been eating 3
and 4 a day and still haven’t even made a dent in the basket. So I have been
trying to think of recipes so I can use them up before they spoiled. After
searching for peach recipes, it came to me… ICE CREAM!

As a little girl, we would visit my grandmother on her farm.
She would make homemade peach ice cream. It was my favorite! I have no idea
what she put it the ice cream but I have tried to replicate it over and over.
Finally, I have found a recipe that makes me feel like I’m 8 yrs. old again.

It’s a little unconventional but it’s super easy!

Peach Ice Cream

8 fresh peaches

1 cup sugar

1 (12oz) can of evaporated milk

1 (3.75 oz) package of Jello instant vanilla pudding

1 (14oz) can of sweetened condensed m ilk

4 cups of half & half

Prepare your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s
directions. This recipe makes 2 quarts. I had to make mine in two batches.

First peel all the peaches. Then cut 7 of the peaches into
large pieces. Cut the 8th peach into small pieces and set aside.

Put the large chunks into a bowl and add the sugar. Let
this sit for about an hour. Then put the peaches in to the food processor and
blend in to a puree. If you don’t have a food processor, you can smash them
with a potato masher.

In another bowl, whisk the evaporated milk and the pudding
till totally blended. Add the peach puree, sweetened condensed milk and half
& half. Lastly, add the peach that was cut into small pieces.

Pour the mixture into your ice cream freezer and process
according to the directions of your freezer. Then pour the mixture into a Tupperware
and place in the freezer for at least 3 hrs.

*This recipe was adapted from a recipe on the website: Deep South Dish

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

A love of dessert

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Baking & Broiling

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers


